Whats New & Coming Soon:

 

 

I have plenty of plans for new reviews and articles, as I am doing this alone, these things take time and fit around my day job!  Its probably best to subscribe to the newsletter, rather than coming back here and being dissappointed that there is nothing new.  I aim to add new content at least every 2 months or sooner!

 

25th-Mar-2020 - Cyber Triage - Upcoming Review

 

I've just had confirmation from Chris at Basis Technology - a licence for Cyber Triage is on the cards, so look out for a review!  CT is, simply put, a GUI that sits on top of Volatility and allows you to quickly scan RAM images for malware.  The killer feature in addition to this, is that you can load up a disk image into the software and it can scan event logs, system files and other areas for malicious programs.

 

I've played with the trial and enjoyed that, so now time to get the big boy pants on here at CFRO and have a deep dive into it.

 

Expect this to drop end of late April, early May.

 
Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!
 
I'dont update that often, so subscribing saves you having to come back and check here all the time !
 

12th-Feb-2020 - Forensic Explorer - Get Data - Upcoming Review

 

I've just had confirmation from Graham over at GetData - a licence for Forensic Explorer is on its way over - so I can put this product through the CFRO mangle and see how it gets on.

 

I've not looked at this for a while, but I do know its half the price of most other forensic suites and has some cool built in image booting features (allowing you to boot a suspect machine directly from the image file, to see the desktop etc).

 

Expect this to drop end of March beginning of April, so;

 
Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!
 

10th-Feb-2020 - Mac Imaging & Triage on a £1500 Budget - Article Online!

 

I've been cooking this one up for a while - as Apple forensics is not nearly as main-stream as its Windows counterpart - this article goes into the depths of how you can kit out your lab with a budget build and climb aboard the Apple forensics bandwagon.

 

The article covers;

 

- Setting a budget and doing this on a shoestring.
- Finding an Apple machine
- Preparing that machine for active service
- Which cables, adapters and hubs you will need
- Choosing a forensic triage and imaging software solution.
 
Its an interesting ride, if you have not looked at an Apple machine for a while, or just fancy getting up to date on what is what - take a look!
 
Take a look at Mac Imaging & Triage on a £1500 Budget here!
 
Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!
 

7-Feb-2020 - Black Bag - Macquisition - Review Online!

 

Its here, I've finished my Macquisition review - its online here.

 

Its more of a journey than a review, if you want to know the ins and outs of imaging (not analysing) Apple machines, then this review will give you a good grounding and help you avoid some common Gotchas!  Enjoy!

 

Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!

 

20/12/19 - Black Bag - Macquisition - Review under way!

 

Well folks, I have my Macquisition dongle and I also have a nice shiny T2 equipped Apple Macbook, so I will be doing some physical imaging of its internal drive over the holiday period !!  The whole lots has cost me about £190 for the rental, out of my own pocket of course - www.cfro.co.uk is broke - but hey, stuff on a shoestring is always better than the commercial stuff :)

 

Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!

 

9/12/19 - Black Bag - Macquisition - Licence Secured for Review!

 

I have managed to obtain a licence for BlackBag's Macquisition, sadly not from them [they don't want it reviewed], but I have my ways!  I'm renting a T2 equipped Mac for the review, so we are good to go!

 

Look out for a full review soon, I will be taking you on a deep dive into the apparent "Physical" disk images that Maquisition creates and assess the real world usefulness of such a feature. 

 

In other words, is it going to give you much more than the other products out there?.

 

I don't know, we will see, either way, its going to be exciting to get the hood up and have a look inside!

 

Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!

 

 

2/12/19 - New Vendor Interview - Armon Gungor - Metaspike 

 

We get Arman Gungor of Metaspike, creator of Forensic Email Extractor in the interview chair here at CFRO towers to spill the beans on the development of FEC and what we can expect from his outfit in the future!

 

Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!

 

 

27/11/19 -  Black Bag - Macquisition Train Wreck Continues

 

Update from Black Bags marketing team, they don't want me to review it, makes me wonder what is wrong with the product - CFRO is a fair place for a review, otherwise why else would other vendors queue up to get a review ?? very strange indeed... full story here.

 

Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!

 

 

26/11/19 Review "No Show" Online - Macquisition !

 

Check out what happened when I approached Black Bag to review their Apple imaging tool here.

 

Remember to subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of when new content drops!

 

 

20/11/19 Case Management Software Review Upcoming!

 

Monolith forensics recently announced that they are working on a Case Management tool designed for forensic practicioners, its FREE while in beta, and I will be breaking my own rules and reviewing a piece of beta software on the site!

 

 

To be notified of when this review drops subscribe to the newsletter!

 

 

12/11/19 Forensic Explorer V3 Review Upcoming!

 

A forensic suite for less than half the price of EnCase or FTK ?

 

I've just been in contact with Graham Henley from GetData.  He has agreed to a long term review of FE in the new year (around February) to be notified of when this review drops subscribe to the newsletter!

 

 

11/11/19 - Macquisition Review may be on the Cards!

 

I've just been contacted by Tim Thorne over at Black Bag Technologies about my last Recon Imager review.  I am hoping that Tim will submit Macquisition (their Apple imaging tool) for a long term review and we can have a good look at how this alternative product works.  Stay tuned.... Like, share and subscribe please!

 

 

6/11/19 - New Review Online - KeyGrabber USB Air  - by Jon Munsey

 

We go all secret squirrel and test out this £20/$20/€18 hardware key logging device in this in-depth review.  Like, share and subscribe please!

 

 

1/11/19 - New Review Online - Recon Imager V4.05 - by Jon Munsey

 

We take this Apple Mac disk and memory imaging tool out for a spin, in this in-depth review.  Like, share and subscribe!

 

 

25/10/19 - Upcoming Reviews!

 

Sumuri Recon Imager V4.05 - How do you image Apple computers ? Not with a linux boot disk anymore, thats for sure.  This review is almost complete and I'm hoping to have this online over the weekend, subscribe to be notified of all new reviews!

 

KeyDemon Wifi Key Logger - An interesting little device to help with covert capturing of a targets keystrokes.  Is it any good ?  No idea, not taken it out of the packet yet, but rest assured, it will get a grilling in the near future, subscribe to be notified of new reviews!

 

 

20/10/19 - Upcoming Reviews!

 

FTK Imager V4 (Access Data) -  One of the oldest imaging programs in computer forensics software gets a well deserved review, come along for the ride and find out some interesting features and quirks that you may not know about.  

 

 

18/10/19 - New Review Online - Forensic Email Collector V3.10 - by Jon Munsey

 

Pick up a pointy stick and come with me to poke FEC about, in this in-depth review of Metaspikes all-in-one mailbox collection tool.

 

 

18/10/19 - Calling All Vendors - We Need Your Advertisements & Products!

 

Whilst I have a raft of forensic software that I own an use on a daily basis, I need fresh tools and products to review, if you want your product reviewed in a fair and independant manner, then please visit our submit product for review page.

 

If you wish to advertise on our site - please visit the advertise with us page.  This site is small acorns at present, so get in whilst it is new and the prices are super low.  The only people realistically reading this site are potential customers and decision makers!

 

If you product is of good quality, you will receive a positive review, just like Metaspike did for their Forensic Email Collector (click to see their review).

 

 

18/10/19 - Computer Forensics Reviews Online is LIVE !!!!

 

Launched the site today, have lots of reviews lined up and am hoping that you guys and girls will support me by signing up to the newsletter, so you can be notified when any new content is added!  It has been a long time in the making, but it is finally here - spread the word and share please - I need as much exposure as I can get!

 

Want to Advertise ?

If you wish to advertise your company or specific products on CFRO, please visit the Advertise Here page for more details and pricing.
 

By sponsoring an advert on this page you can help us continue making honest and independent reviews.

Print Print | Sitemap
(c) 2020 Computer Forensics Online Limited - Not to be copied or reproduced without written permission.